Thursday 24 April 2014
Advertise  |  Subscribe  |  Register  | 


About cookies: we use cookies to support features like login and sharing articles. Keep cookies enabled to enjoy the full site experience. By browsing our site with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Review our cookies information for more details.

about | advisory panel | winners 2010 | photo gallery | magazine | media | partners & charity | past winners

The EVawards - Europeans of the year

Discover the Europeans of the year 2010 !

The 2010 winners - Photo: Wiktor Dabkowski / (c) European Voice

The EVawards aim to honour those people who have most influenced the European Union's agenda over the past year. Now we are calling on European Voice readers to assist us in that task.

A shortlist of nominees has been drawn up by a panel of distinguished observers of the European scene: Josep Borrell Fontelles, president of the European University Institute; John Micklethwait, editor-in-chief of The Economist; Alina Mungiu-Pippidi, professor of democracy studies at the Hertie School of Governance in Berlin; Helen Wallace, professor at the European Institute of the London School of Economics and Political Science; and Tim King, editor of European Voice.

The nominations have been made in five categories: National Politician, European Commissioner, Member of the European Parliament, EU Official, and Inspiration of the Year. Each of those nominated is recognised to have made a positive impact on the Union's political, economic or social life, and on its relations with the rest of the world.

Since the first EVawards were made in 2001, the event has become established in the social calendar of the EU. It is a very special celebration both of individuals and of the work of the European Union. Please join in the celebration by making the effort to vote.

European Voice donates the profits of the 'EVAwards - Europeans of the year' to charity. €200,000 has been donated over the past seven years.

* * *

If you have any queries about EVawards 2010, please contact

If you would like to have online access to three months of European Voice articles and receive updates by email simply register for free here. If you are not yet a subscriber to European Voice take advantage of our 4-week free trial subscription to receive the print edition as well as full online access.


'EVAwards - Europeans of the Year 2010' is supported by:


in association with:


TV partner:











Cookies info | Privacy policy | Terms & conditions