Wednesday 23 April 2014
Advertise  |  Subscribe  |  Register  | 


About cookies: we use cookies to support features like login and sharing articles. Keep cookies enabled to enjoy the full site experience. By browsing our site with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Review our cookies information for more details.

about | advisory panel | nominees & results | gala evening & photos | magazine | media | partners & charity

Europeans of the Year 2004, per category with reasons for nomination

European of the Year

Recep Tayyip Erdogan, prime minister of Turkey
for having put Turkey on the path to reform

Statesman of the Year

Bertie Ahern, prime minister of Ireland
for resurrecting and completing negotiations on the EU constitution

Commissioner of the Year Günter Verheugen,
for his work explaining the EU's 1 May enlargement, to citizens of both old and new member states
Visionary of the Year Pedro Almodovar, Spanish film-maker
for his films challenging social taboos
MEP of the Year Hans-Gert Pöttering, leader of the European People's Party group in the European Parliament
for boosting the standing of the Parliament with his insistence that the next president of the European Commission come from the political party that was most successful in June's elections
Diplomat of the Year Anne Anderson, Ireland's ambassador to the EU
for her efforts during Ireland's presidency of the EU, which received widespread acclaim
Achiever of the Year Gianna Angelopoulos-Daskalaki, president of the Athens 2004 Organizing Committee for the Olympic Games
for proving the doubters wrong and successfully organizing one of the most controversial Olympic Games ever
Journalist of the Year Beppe Severgnini, Corriera della Sera
for his work, particularly in discussing the plight of the Italian media under Silvio Berlusconi
Non-EU Citizen of the Year Mikhail Saakashvili
for his brave efforts to bring democracy to Georgia
Campaigner of the Year

Michéal Martin, former health minister of Ireland
for having introduced the EU's first national ban on smoking in bars, pubs and restaurants

Business leader of the Year Ingvar Kamprad, IKEA founder
for transforming the interior lives of millions of Europeans


If you have any queries about EVawards 2008 please contact


'The EVAwards Europeans of the Year 2008' is supported by:


in association with:

Intel - inside Europe

GE imagination at work








Cookies info | Privacy policy | Terms & conditions